Ohio PRA Award Winners

The Ohio Parks and Recreation Association has announced its 2011 Annual Awards of Excellence winners.

Throughout the state, more than 95 projects were nominated. In all, more than 20 agencies have been recognized with first-, second- or third-place awards.

"These award winners represent the best of the best in parks and recreation in Ohio,” said OPRA Executive Director Woody Woodward. “These programs and projects are changing the lives of people around the state and building better communities in Ohio.”

The awards are judged in a two-tiered process which includes a panel of parks and recreation professionals from around Ohio, as well as the association’s Board of Directors.

The OPRA Annual Awards of Excellence will be presented at a banquet hosted by the association featuring keynote speaker Jack Hanna, director emeritus of the Columbus Zoo, on Feb. 7 at the Kalahari Resort and Conference Center in Sandusky, in conjunction with the 2012 OPRA Annual Conference and Trade Show.

One first-place award winner will be presented with the 2011 Governor’s Award for Parks and Recreation, a “best-in-show” award that includes a $500 contribution to the parks and recreation foundation of the winner.

A complete list of winners is available by clicking here: http://bit.ly/ttdA9d